Porter and Brown Sugar Candied Bacon

Got a party this weekend and don’t know what to bring? What about a big cup o’ bacon! I brought this to a ladies Oscar party and it disappeared in no time. FYI, bacon and beer flavored things aren’t just for men.

All you need is a pound of bacon, a bottle of beer, a cup of brown sugar, and a tablespoon of honey.

I used Squatter’s Polygamy Porter.

wpid-20150222_151530.jpg

1. Combine the brown sugar, honey, and about 2/3 of the beer in a saucepan and cook on medium to high heat until the consistency is like a thick maple syrup. The 1/3 of beer left is for you to drink.

wpid-20150222_152400.jpg

2. I like to cook the bacon in the oven at 375 degrees until my desired crispness. For the greatest method watch the YouTube video below. Cover each piece of bacon in the brown sugar syrup before baking.

wpid-20150222_153112.jpg

3. I checked my bacon every 5 minutes and used a brush to glaze each piece.

wpid-20150222_155511.jpg

4. After the bacon is crispy enough to stand up when holding it upright, I placed the bacon on a non stick baking surface to cool down. This takes about 10-20 minutes. After that I put the bacon in a pint glass and voilà, cup o’ bacon!

Cup O' Bacon
Cup O’ Bacon

Leave a comment